Jonas Brothers

 

photo of the Jonas brothers doing monkey hear, monkey see, monkey do

Jonas, N., Jonas, J., & Jonas, K.  (2007) When You Look Me in the Eyes.  On When You Look Me in the Eyes. Burbank, CA: Hollywood Records.

Jonas, N., Jonas, J., & Jonas, K.  (2008) Burnin’ Up.  On A Little Bit Longer. Burbank, CA: Hollywood Records.

Jonas, N., Jonas, J., & Jonas, K.  (2008) Lovebug.  On A Little Bit Longer. Burbank, CA: Hollywood Records.

Review:

[Just for the record, when I was 13, I was totally into New Kids on the Block.  Which means both that my music judgement is not to be trusted, and that I do not judge anyone for the music they like.]

I don’t know if it’s just me, but Burnin’ Up sounds like it wants to be a Janet Jackson dance mix from the early 90’s and When You Look Me in the Eyes sounds like a poor imitation of a power rock ballad from the late 90’s.  On the other hand, while Lovebug is possibly trying a bit too hard (especially the clearly scripted studio talk), it actually sounds rather nice and relatively original.  (No, I don’t always go for the catchy tunes.  I’m just a sucker for peppy, slightly quirky, pop rock.)

I don’t understand the popularity the Jonas Brothers any better having listened to some of their songs*, but I might possibly keep Lovebug on my playlist.  If I can find a version that doesn’t have them talking about pizza and parties.

Best for ages 9-14

 

Artist website: http://www.jonasbrothers.com/

 

 

*having listened to Hangin’ Tough recently, after not having heard it for decades, I do have to say they’ve got NKOTB beat hands down, though.

Leave a Reply

