Wizards of Waverly Place

image for Wizards of Waverly Place

Goodman, R. (Writer), & Koherr, B. (Director).  (2009)  Monster Hunter [Television series episode].  In Greenwald, T. J. (Producer), Wizards of Waverly Place.  Hollywood, CA: It’s A Laugh Productions.

Varava, J. (Writer), & Gonzalez, V. (Director).  (2009)  Three Monsters [Television series episode].  In Greenwald, T. J. (Producer), Wizards of Waverly Place.  Hollywood, CA: It’s A Laugh Productions.

Review:

Alex is a wizard.  Well, a wizard in training, anyway.  So are her brothers, Justin and Max.  The only problem is that they need to keep their powers hidden, which isn’t always as easy thing to do when your older brother is dating a monster, your younger brother can’t manage to do any spells correctly, and your family lives in the very busy city of New York.

I keep trying to think of something nice to say about this show, and I keep coming up with nothing.  It’s not just that everything in it was ridiculous, it’s that it was ridiculous and yet still not brave enough to be really out there like Pee Wee’s Playhouse.  I can’t even figure out where to begin with describing the episodes I watched – except to say that the whole conscious story-line seriously wigged me out.  It was pretty much everything I hated about Saved by the Bell (minus the first season on the Disney channel) only worse.  I feel like I should try to watch more episodes in order to see if it was just the one I watched, but I can’t quite bring myself to do so.  (and seriously, this show won awards?  what?)  I think instead I need to find some kids who watch it in order to ask them what they like about it.

Show website: http://tv.disney.go.com/disneychannel/wizardsofwaverlyplace/

Leave a Reply

