A Walk to Remember

cover image for A Walk to Remember dvdShankman, A. (Director).  (2002).  A Walk to Remember [Motion picture]. USA: Warner Bros. Pictures.

[must find something good to say…can’t make the review all negative… must find something good to say…ummm…Shane West is very pretty?]

Jamie Sullivan is sweet and caring – and the odd girl out at school.  Landon Carter is popular and charming (when he bothers to be) – but he’s hardly the boy to take home to your parents.  Especially if you’re the minister’s daughter.  So what happens when the two of them are thrown together for a community service project?

To be perfectly honest, I would have loved this movie when I was about 13.  Not only is it chock full of drama! tragedy! true love! sacrifice! and just about everything else that made me all swoony as a tween (yes, including pretty boys) but Jamie is a complete dweeb.  The only thing that would have made my inner 13 year old love her more is if she had been a geek as well.  And slightly less perfect.  And for Landon to have been a bit more scruffy in his bad boy stage.

As it is, I am no longer 13, and at the moment my noggin is aching from all the head-desking I was doing over the idea of a movie that is all about the importance of love and chastity and long term monogamy – and yet fails to show a single marriage that doesn’t end in divorce or is cut short – really short – by death.  Also, the whole “bad boy made good through the love of a decent woman” left my eyes strained from all the rolling they did.

This isn’t a completely awful movie for teens, and it’s one that few parents would object to and many tween girls would love.   There were even a few moments that made me go “awww” (Landon saving the day in the lunch room and Jamie making him promise not to fall in love with her among them).  However, it’s not a good movie either.  It’s the kind I’d make sure I had in my collection – resources allowing – but not really one I would talk up, except maybe to convince fans of the movie to try reading the book it’s based on.

Best for ages: 11-15

Leave a Reply

